A-to-Z Challenge Day 10 — J.R. Answers Authorish Questions

J

I’m sure we’ve all seen and at some point responded to those survey questionnaires that get floated around on social media. For this letter’s challenge, I decided I would answer one of those I found that asked questions aimed towards writers. So, here goes:

Where is your favorite place to write?

If I’m able to get comfy enough, I love sitting in bed to write. This is one of the best parts of using a laptop to work on. If I have lots of notes and things to look through and spread out, I prefer using the dining table. I can only use the dining table for short stints at a time though because the chairs are just not comfortable.

Coffee or tea?

I’m a tea drinker. I usually only drink coffee from specialty shops when I’m out and about and my boyfriend, the coffee addict, wants one. I really only like coffee that doesn’t taste like coffee.

Favorite book?

I assume this is the case for many avid readers, but it’s really hard to pick a single favorite book based on preferences or author style or when it’s just an amazing story. So, I’m going to go with something that is my favorite book because of all of those things, but holds a special place for me for sentimental reasons. My mom had an old edition of Bambi, by Felix Salten that for a long time sat on our bookshelves. I was of course a fan of the Disney movie, but since this worn-out hard back didn’t seem to be anything like my beloved film, I didn’t think much about picking it up and reading it. Until I did. I was around 10 years old and read that book cover to cover probably three or four times. It’s one of the books that made an impact on me as far as animal compassion, emotion in writing, and it reminds me of my mom. So I’ll call it my favorite.

NaNo? Yes or no?

I’ve only participated in NaNo once, and I didn’t finish it. I like the idea and depending on how I feel about things when November rolls around again this year, I’ll look at giving it another shot. I do enjoy the chance to meet and chat with other writers — that’s fun, because I don’t really get to interact with other people who want to write as much as I do.

Genre you would like to write.

Fantasy — which is what I’m writing. But other than fantasy I think I’d like to try a post-modern sci-fi story at some point.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Mind control. I know, it’s a really bad thing to say, but I do secretly (or openly now) think that the world would be a lot better if I could run things. 🙂

Favorite author?

This fluctuates. Right now I’m reading books by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan, so they’re favorites at the moment. Long-time favorites are Stephen King, Patrick Rothfuss, Marion Zimmer Bradley, and George R. R. Martin.

What kind of music do you listen to when you write?

All kinds. I have playlists for different moods and settings, and even for different characters that I listen to while I’m writing. I tend to prefer music without spoken lyrics, or at least in other languages so that I don’t focus on the words while I’m working.

If you could live anywhere, where would that be?

My dream house is an old Victorian mansion surrounded by woods with lots of character and secret passages behind bookcases, deep cellars, and winding spiral staircases that lead to tower rooms. In this country, most of these homes are in the eastern half of the United States, mainly New England. So that’d be my dream locale.

What do you do when you get writer’s block?

If ever feel like I’m just not able to get things going, I work on an exercise from one of my writing reference books. That usually makes me get an idea of how I can relate that to my story and then I am back into the swing of things.

2 thoughts on “A-to-Z Challenge Day 10 — J.R. Answers Authorish Questions

  1. I am a huge Patrick Rothfuss fan as well, although I could have gone without that whole Felurian bit in the second book. I had the toughest time getting through that part in the audiobook. This was a really fun post!

    Julianne
    Ink & Stitches – http://blog.jhwinter.com

    Like

  2. Thank you for giving us a peek into your writing style and life. I’ve also tried NaNo but I haven’t made it to the end. My biggest challenge is to find dedicated time to write either before or after my “day” job of marketing. I run out of brain power in the evening but I’m not a morning person. What to do, what to do! Dropping by from the A to Z Challenge. Keep up the good work! http://www.dianeweidenbenner.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

