Updates, Goals, and a New Plan!

a-writers-brainI have kept numerous diaries and journals over the years. They’re a great way to look back over things, reminisce, and get a clear view of stuff that was going on at the time that had you too bogged down to see your way through things.

I also noticed a lot when reviewing journals and diaries that there have always been huge gaps where I didn’t write anything down. The next entry to follow one of these gaps invariably began with an apology to my diary/journal about taking so long to write.

I don’t know why I used to do that. I don’t know why that felt natural or like something I should have done since I’m the only one (presumably) who would read those anyway. Maybe I thought of apologizing to myself vicariously through the book as a means of saying, “I am so sorry. I meant to use you more, Diary. But other things took me away from you. I’m back now, though. We’re together again. Can you forgive me?” I needed to acknowledge that I meant to keep current and give myself that time to write.

Diaries are magnanimous and complete pushovers, however, and so I would return to writing in mine as if my Diary said, “Of course, I forgive you. I’m just so glad you’ve come back to me. I would wait forever for you to return.”

Diaries are actually co-dependent enablers, aren’t they?

Anyhoo…

 

 

I don’t apologize for missing blog posts, at least not at this point because my blog here just isn’t popular enough to warrant it. That might change in the future, but for now, I subscribe to the idea of blogging without obligation.

My last blog post was in May, after having sputtered out part-way through the A-Z Blogging Challenge in April. My life and my health and everything decided that this summer was going to be the craziest in a long time. So blogging fell behind. I’m ready to try getting back into this though and I’ve chosen a time when I’m going to be slamming myself with writing goals already!

i-am-the-50k

 

  1. I am still pounding away at my novel despite numerous frustrations and setbacks from both inner and outer forces of chaos. I am more determined than ever to see this thing through.
  2. I am going to give NaNoWriMo another shot this year. Last time, I thought of putting my novel project aside and starting an entirely new piece. That caused huge hiccups in my workflow, and I didn’t get either of those goals met. This time, I’m not starting a new project. I am committing to writing 50K words in my current novel, which if it is done correctly, could be just enough to push me to the finish line for this draft.

So, I will have a separate section on my blog here similar to what I did for the A-Z Challenge to hold myself accountable publicly to my NaNoWriMo goals, as well as to vent my frustrations and catalog my experiences with this.

If you are interested in adding me as a fellow Wrimo, my ID is — jurenjo9. Leave a comment here letting me know you’re also a Wrimo and we can endure that beautiful torment together!

2 thoughts on “Updates, Goals, and a New Plan!

Leave a Reply

