Nanowrimo 2016 – Day 1

goals-calendar

My Goal Tracker Calendar

Nano does a great job with helping to keep track of your word count, but I like having something at hand myself to look at and see where I am in the grand scheme of things.

The goal is to write 50,000 words by November 30th. This is broken down into 1,667 words per day. I’ve decided to set the goal for myself at 1670/day and finish the month at 50,100 (or more, hopefully).

To this end, I created this calendar on a piece of graph paper. At the bottom of each day’s box, I have the goal where I should be at that day’s end. Day one is 1670, day two is 3340, and so it goes adding 1670 to each day’s total. Then the last column I have marked “Goal”. This is where I want to be at the end of each week.

At the end of each day’s work–I give myself until midnight of that day to count towards my daily word count goal– I will write my total in the calendar. If I meet or surpass my goal, I write my actual daily word count (ADWC) in green. YAY!

If I fail, I write my ADWC in red. BOO!

If I finish the week on track or ahead of my total goal, then I will reward myself with something I’ve put off for the week.

At this point, it’s likely to be allowing myself to binge something on Netflix. Currently, I’m planning to work my way through “Stranger Things”. But if I decide on a different reward, then so be it.

Today I surpassed my goal by hitting a word count of 2152!!

And here is my word count screen capture for today:

day-1-word-count

Green Bar all the way!!!

Now I’m going to decompress and cuddle with my cat.

Until next time!!

Leave a Reply

